ORGANIZING MY LIFE (DIY PROJECT)

If you are anything like me, your life gets a little hectic. No matter how much you want a clean room or an organized desk, there are always other priorities. Then, when you finally get some down time, the last thing on your mind is cleaning! I dedicated a day of my life (I know! A whole 8 hours! It was a Saturday!) to organizing! I made sure all my clothes were folded, drawers weren’t overflowing, and the bed was made(all done to some killer tunes)! Once I finished that, I created a little something extra to help keep me motivated and on track! An organizer!

Now, I know what you are thinking! “Why would I make an organizer, if I can just buy one!?” Well, the answer is, I like doing things the hard way!

It takes a bit of dedication and time, but in the end, it is personalized and totally worth it! Before we begin, you need to have an idea of what you are organizing (for example, it could be school, a fitness schedule, a food log, or the usual week day routine!). Along with that game plan, you will need:

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 8.57.54 PM.png

(I saw calendar inserts at target, but I chose to go with a monthly plan, so I printed them out at home! I found mine on Pinterest!)

I got all of this at Target! Look in the clearance area!

Lets get started!

DIVIDERS:

To start, I bought 12×12 craft paper.

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 8.58.53 PM

Then, I used a piece of printer paper to draw the lines where I needed to cut!

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 8.59.22 PM

In my pack of craft paper, each design came with two, sheets each. I cut out enough to separate each month, then I made extras! Once they were cut, I started gluing them together (and punching out holes with a hole puncher once the glue is dry!) that way when my binder opens, the pages matched, like so:

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.00.03 PM

If you made enough pages, you can incorporate monthly calendars into your binder! I did this by printing mine out and cutting them! The reason I did this was so I could see a little bit more of my background and because these were meant for a smaller binder and i didn’t want the white space in my book! This also allows for the binders to be reused because these sheets can be replaced each year! (I used washi tape where I punched holes in my pages to reinforce them!)

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.00.14 PM
SORRY ITS UPSIDE DOWN!

The craft packet I bought had a page with month markers, so I incorporated those into my divider pages! You might not have this option, but there is a way around that! Tabs!

TABS:

To create the tabs, I cut out a piece of paper and folded it in half:

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.00.24 PM

I wrote what area I was organizing on both sides of the tab:

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.00.32 PM

Then tape it to the page:

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.00.46 PM

If you are adding more than one tab to your binder, make sure you stagger them! This way you can see them all!

EXTRAS:

To help reinforce my pages, I used the clear packing tape to “laminate” them!

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.00.57 PM

Once that was done, I placed all the pages in the binder! Then, I glued the post it notes to my front page!

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 9.01.05 PM

I used the binder clips as pockets, clipping papers to my dividers!

Thats it! It is pretty simple! If you have any questions, let me know!! Obviously, everyones life is a bit different! If you recreated this DIY, I would love to see your pictures!

Leave a Reply

